Corporate Social Responsibility

Devotes to Strive for Better Lives

Hong Kong Television Network Limited (formerly named as City Telecom (H.K.) Limited) has been devoting to strive for better lives since 1992.

In the 90s of last century, telecommunications services, particularly IDD services were very expensive, and internet service was a luxury for the majority. In order to enhance people's relationship with their relatives and friends overseas and keep them connected to the world, we made a series of revolutionary breakthroughs, such as breaking market monopoly to provide IDD service alternatives and providing field-leading 100Mbps fiber broadband service, bringing convenience to the lives of the public, as well as propelling industry development.

As the telecommunications business was getting mature, we decided to turn our focus to the development of TV & multimedia businesses, hoping to bring changes to the industry and to unleash Hong Kong's creativity on drama production, thus providing more choices on high quality program to the public and bringing Hong Kong back to the position of Asian TV drama production hub.

Later, we shifted our focus to local e-commerce, aiming to introduce a more convenient way of shopping. Our online shopping mall helps to save money, save effort and save time, upholds the principals of Price Watch Guarantee, Authenticity Guarantee and Mall Dollar Cash Rebate Guarantee, bringing quality products and services at competitive prices to Hong Kongers. Starting from humble beginning that not many people trust our vision, and now we are gaining momentum to be part of many people's lives. From impossible to possible, we are leading the Hong Kong online shopping industry to a new era.

Meanwhile, Corporate Social Responsibility has always been prioritized to bring pleasure to the stakeholders:

Environment: With continuous business expansion, the consumption of paper box for order delivery had been rocketed . For the sake of our planet, paper box was replaced by recyclable blue plastic box or recycled paper box.

Charity: A single blood donation can help three or more patients. Therefore we encourage and organize blood donation event in every six months.

We care about those unprivileged in the world. Particularly we have worked hand in hand with Cambodian Children Fund (CCF) since 2011, organizing volunteer visit and donations hoping that our minor contribution can help to improve children’s living condition. At the same time, this serves as internal learning to remind our talents to treasure what they have.

Talent: Talents are valuable asset of the company, that their health conditions are also critical to the company’s operations.

To keep our talents physically healthy, we always organize outdoor group activities such as cycling ecotour, offering opportunities for physical exercise, as well as enhancing knowledge on environment conservation and personal bonding among them.

To keep our talents mentally healthy, we have bible study group in alternate Thursdays allowing them to relief stress and to purify their mind and soul. In festive seasons such as Mid-Autumn Festival and Winter Solstice, talents are entitled for 2-hour early leave and meal allowance for celebration.

To encourage individual’s enhancement, funding for Education Partnership is provided to support life-long learning.

企業社會責任

為創造更幸福美滿生活而堅持不懈

香港電視(前稱「城市電訊」)從1992年至今,一直為打造更美好的生活而堅持不懈。

於90年代,香港的電訊服務特別是長途電話服務費高昂,上網服務是一小撮人的奢侈品。為了令大眾能與遠方親友溝通無間、人人都享有上網的權利,我們作出一系列革命性的創新,打破長途電話市場壟斷、率先推出高達100Mbps的光纖寬頻服務,為市民大眾帶來更多的便利,推動行業的進步。

眼見電訊業務穩定發展,我們決定發展電視及多媒體業務,希望能夠改變行業的規則,釋放香港電視劇製作的創意,為大眾提供更多高質素的節目選擇,亦讓香港重回亞洲區電視劇製作中心的地位。

其後,我們更轉戰本地網購市場,致力為大眾引入更方便的消費模式。我們的網上購物商場以「慳水慳力慳時間」為己任,堅守正價、正貨、Mall Dollar現金回贈保證的三大承諾,用相宜價錢為市民大眾提供優質產品和服務。由一開始不被看好,至後來越來越多人關注,越來越多人嘗試,越來越融入大眾的日常生活,我們將香港網購這回事由看似不可能變成可能,為這一行業創造了一番新氣象。

與此同時,企業社會責任是我們一直追求的經營目標,希望為社會上各持份者帶來幸福:

環境保護: 隨著網購業務不斷擴展,於派送訂單時使用的紙箱將會越來越多。為減輕環境壓力,所以在2016年2月全面轉用可循環再用的藍色膠箱或翻用用過的紙箱。

社會慈善: 每人每次的捐血可以救助三至四人,所以企業一向十分熱切鼓勵員工參與,大約每六個月便安排捐血活動。

自2011年起,企業心繫柬埔寨的貧苦兒童,期間組織義工團探防、捐獻物資予保護兒童組織Cambodian Children Fund (CCF),希望為他們略盡綿力改善生活,同時亦提醒上下員工珍惜目前所擁有。

員工關顧: 員工是企業的重要資產,直接影響企業的營運效率,所以他們的身心健康十分重要。

為照顧身體健康,企業不定期舉行團體戶外活動如單車生態旅遊等,既可舒展筋骨,亦可增進對自然保育的知識,並加強同事間的互動交流。

為照顧心靈健康,隔周四舉辦的聖經分享會在工作以外提供一個空間讓有宗教信仰的同事藉此釋放壓力,淨化心靈。每逢中秋、冬至等節日,除了提早下班之外,我們亦提供聚餐津貼讓同事們一同樂也融融共慶佳節。

為鼓勵成長進步,企業設立教育津貼基金,幫助員工實踐終身學習,不斷自我增值。